Alaska Boroughs & Census Areas Selection List

If you know the town, but not the borough,  click here.


Alaska is unique among the states. It's extremely large, much of the state is sparsely populated, and much of the state has not been divided into local governing units in the manner of counties. Instead of local divisions of government established as counties, Alaska is divided into a group of boroughs and geographical census areas.

Each borough has a borough seat which serves a purpose similar to the county seat in other U.S. states. However, most of the land area of the state is not under any borough-level government. The United States Census Bureau has divided the remainder of Alaska into census areas for statistical purposes. 

The following areas have completely merged the City and Borough into a single entity:


City and Borough of Juneau

City and Borough of Sitka

City and Borough of Yakutat

A census area is similar to a borough in the U.S. state of Alaska, with the following exceptions:

  • Its name and boundaries are defined by the United States Census Bureau, not by the State of Alaska.

  • It contains no area-wide government; therefore, it does not contain a capital (borough seat) city.

  • Obtain vital records directly from the State of Alaska.


Click on the borough/census area name to access its page.

Borough/Census Area


Parent Territory

Government Seat
Aleutians East Borough 23 Oct 1987 Part of Aleutian Islands C.A. Sand Point
Aleutians West Census Area 23 Oct 1987 Aleutian Islands  
Anchorage Borough 01 Jan 1964   Anchorage
Bethel Census Area      
Bristol Bay Borough 1962   Naknek
Denali Borough 07 Dec 1990 Yukon-Koyukuk C.A. & Southeast Fairbanks C.A. Healy
Fairbanks North Star Borough 1964   Fairbanks
Haines Borough 29 Aug 1968 Annexed 420 miles to the south + merged with Fort Chilkoot Haines
Juneau Borough 1970   Juneau
Kenai Peninsula Borough 1964   Soldotna
Ketchikan Gateway Borough 1963   Ketchikan
Kobuk Census Area   absorbed into the Northwest Arctic Borough 2 June 1986
Kodiak Island Borough 1963   Kodiak
Lake and Peninsula Borough 24 Apr 1989 Dillingham Census Area King Salmon
Matanuska-Susitna Borough 1964   Anchorage
Nome Census Area      
North Slope Borough 1972   Barrow
Northwest Arctic Borough 02 Jun 1986 Kobuk C.A. & North Slope Borough Kotzebue
Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Census Area      
Skagway-Hoonah-Angoon Census Area 22 Sep 1992 remainder of former Skagway-Yakutat-Angoon C.A.  
Sitka Borough 1971   Sitka
Southeast Fairbanks Census Area      
Valdez-Cordova Census Area      
Wade Hampton Census Area      
Wrangell-Petersburg Census Area      
Yakutat Borough 22 Sep 1992 Skagway-Yakutat-Angoon C.A. Yakutat
Yukon-Koyukuk Census Area      


IMPORTANT:  Changes to County Equivalent Entities in Alaska

  • The boundaries of the Alaska county-level entities changed significantly during the 1970s.

  • The county equivalent entities in Alaska changed from Census Divisions in 1970 to Boroughs and Census Areas in 1980.

  • New entities created in Alaska were: Dillingham Census Area, North Slope Borough, and Valdez-Cordova Census Area.

Discontinued county equivalent entities in Alaska

  • Angoon Division

  • Barrow Division

  • Cordova-McCarthy Division

  • Kenai-Cook Inlet Division 

  • Kuskokwim Division

  • Outer Ketchikan Division

  • Prince of Wales Division

  • Skagway-Yakutat Division

  • Upper Yukon Division

  • Valdez-Chitina-Whittier Division




Look Here First Boroughs Research Additional Helps Help & Support
What's New? Boroughs & C.A.s Address Directory Look Up Assistance Contact Me
Queries Forum Clickable Map Learning Center Mailing Lists F.A.Q. Section
Home Regional Map Miscellaneous Items Orphaned Treasures Help This Site Grow
  Communities Online Library Research Exchange Link to AlaskaWeb
Research Center Special Events  
Surname Register Special Projects



This page was last updated:
Tuesday, 23 Mar 2010 03:00:07